You are here

About the Town of Clay

The Town of Clay was established in 1827 and is the northernmost town of the nineteen towns in Onondaga County. The largest town in Onondaga County, Clay is 54.6 square miles in size and includes part of the Village of North Syracuse. The Seneca River forms its western boundary, meeting with the Oswego and Oneida rivers at a point known as Three Rivers. The Oneida River forms most of the northern boundary. In 2008 the Town of Clay was rated 59th of America's best places to live by Money Magazine.

A suburb of Syracuse, Clay is close to Syracuse Hancock International Airport and US Routes 81 and 90. Town Hall is located at 4401 State Route 31, between Henry Clay Boulevard and Morgan Road.

The 2000 Census estimated a population of 58,805 and the current estimate is approximately 60,000. Clay's modern development as a residential community began in 1955 with the development of the Bayberry tract on Route 57. The opening of the Great Northern Mall on Route 31 in 1988 has brought increased commercial development along the east/west corridor.

Clay is governed by a Town Board, comprised of the Supervisor and six councilors elected at-large. Town Board meetings are held the first and third Monday of each month at Town Hall and are open to the public.

Town Hall is located at 4401 State Route 31, Clay, NY 13041 and is open for general business from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM Monday through Friday. Evenings are reserved for board meetings and Justice court. The departments and services offered are as follows:


Assessment records (Property values) exemptions, deed transfers and tax maps.


Accounts payable, payroll and personnel records, budget management and financial reports, investments.


Maintenance of approximately 160 miles of town roads (plowing, sanding, resurfacing), drainage facilities, parks and playgrounds. Semi-annual brush and heavy appliance pickup and leaf removal in the fall.


Building Inspector, Code Enforcement Officer, Fire Marshall. Building Permits, site plan approval of all new development within the town (residential/commercial/industrial). Planning Board and Zoning Board of Appeals.


Parks and playground recreation programs, senior citizen programs, adult and youth athletic leagues. The Town has four large area parks and numerous green areas within neighborhoods.


Onondaga County Sheriff's Department, Division for Youth, Animal Control, Civil Defense, Traffic control.


Chief Fiscal Officer (prepares and oversees budget), personnel management, oversees operation of all departments, presides at Town Board meetings. Chairman of Industrial Development Committee.


Responsible for mailing out and collecting Town & County, School and North Syracuse Village Tax bills for all property in the Town of Clay. Provides tax rates and payment information. Collects Town of Clay water payments.


Issues licenses and permits: Marriage, dog, hunting and fishing, handicapped parking, etc.. Makes arrangements for election district polling places, inspectors and voting machine custodians. Maintains all Town records and Town Board meeting minutes. Secretary to the Town Board.


Water billing. Handles requests for and cancellation of service and other pertinent information. Maintains water lines and meters.


Children in the Town of Clay attend one of five school districts. They are: Baldwinsville, Central Square, Liverpool, North Syracuse and Phoenix.


Clay contracts with five volunteer fire departments to provide fire protection for its residents. They are:

  • Clay Volunteer Fire Department, Inc. (wholly within Clay) -
  • Moyers Corners Fire Department, Inc. (wholly within Clay) -
  • Brewerton Fire District
  • Caughdenoy Volunteer Fire Department, Inc.
  • North Syracuse Fire Department